Iberian Lawyer has released the nominees for the Forty under 40 Awards 2022, the awards that recognise the achievements of the new generation of leading lawyers in their practice area, who are shaping the future of the profession.

Held annually, the Iberian Lawyer's Forty Under 40 Awards honour lawyers from across the Iberian Peninsula who are under the age of 40.

These awards are divided into two categories "Team of the Year" and "Lawyer of the Year".

VdA has 19 team nominations and 39 individual nominations.

Team Nominations 

  • Team of the Year
  • Team of the Year Arbitration
  • Team of the Year Banking and Finance
  • Team of the Year Capital Markets (Debt and Equity)
  • Team of the Year Energy
  • Team of the Year EU & Competition
  • Team of the Year Insfrastructure & Construction
  • Team of the Year Insolvency & Restructuring
  • Team of the Year Insurance
  • Team of the Year IP & TMT
  • Team of the Year Labour
  • Team of the Year Life Sciences & Pharma
  • Team of the Year Litigation
  • Team of the Year M&A
  • Team of the Year Private Equity
  • Team of the Year Public Law
  • Team of the Year Real Estate
  • Team of the Year White Collar


Individual Nominations

Lawyer of the year

Pedro Pires Fernandes

Lawyer of the year Arbitration

Filipe Rocha Vieira

Teresa Tönnies

Lawyer of the year Banking and Finance

Carlos Filipe Couto

Lawyer of the year Capital Markets (Debts and Equity)

Carlos Filipe Couto

Lawyer of the year Energy

Ângela Viana

Lawyer of the year EU & Competition

Leonor Bettencourt Nunes

Lawyer of the year Insurance

Carlos Filipe Couto

Lawyer of the year IP & TMT

Maria de Lurdes Gonçalves

Marilia Frias

Sara Nazaré

David Paula

Lawyer of the year Labour

José Fernando Barata

Pedro Ferreira de Sousa

Lawyer of the year Life Sciences & Pharma

Pedro Fontes

Sara Nazaré

Lawyer of the year Litigation

Matilde Líbano Monteiro

Sara Nazaré

Joana Neves

Pedro Pires Fernandes

Filipe Rocha Vieira

Teresa Tönnies

Lawyer of the year M&A

Sofia Bobone

Pedro Duarte Batista

Ana Teresa Duarte Silva

Cristina Melo Miranda

Lawyer of the year Equity

Carolina França Barreira

Sofia Bobone

Pedro Sassetti Coimbra

Lawyer of the year Public Law

Marco Caldeira

Teresa Tönnies

Lawyer of the year Real Estate

Pedro Morais Vaz

Professional of the Year Tax

Nuno Batina

Salomé Corte-Real

Miguel Gonzalez Amado

João Riscado Rapoula

Teresa Teixeira Mota

Lawyer of the year White Collar

Rui Costa Pereira

Inês Sotto Mayor